Wednesday, August 26, 2009

Top 30 Punk/Pre-Punk Albums

This is my personal opinion on what are the top 30 greatest punk/pre-punk albums of all time (who knows, over the years I might have a few changes to make, but for now, this is my current opinion.)
---

1. “Ramones”
by Ramones.
(1976)

2. “The Clash”
by The Clash.
(1977)

3. “Never Mind The Bollocks, Here's The Sex Pistols”
by Sex Pistols.
(1977)

4. “Another Music In A Different Kitchen”
by Buzzcocks.
(1978)

5. “Rocket To Russia”
by Ramones.
(1977)

6. “Static Age”
by Misfits.
(1978)

7. “Love Bites”
by Buzzcocks.
(1978)

8. Punk’s Not Dead
by The Exploited.
(1981)

9. Fresh Fruit For Rotten Vegetables
by Dead Kennedys.
(1980)

10. “L.A.M.F”
by Johnny Thunders & The Heartbreakers.
(1977)

11. “New York Dolls”
by New York Dolls.
(1973)

12. “The Incredible Shrinking Dickies”
by The Dickies.
(1979)

13. “Blank Generation”
by Richard Hell & The Voidoids.
(1977)

14. “Tell Us The Truth”
by Sham 69.
(1978)

15. “Inflammable Material”
by Stiff Little Fingers
(1979)

16. “Pure Mania”
by The Vibrators
(1977)

17. “…And Out Come The Wolves”
by Rancid
(1995)

18. “The Stooges”
by The Stooges.
(1969)

19. “Combat Rock”
by The Clash
(1982)

18. “Another Kind Of Blues”
by UK Subs
(1979)

19. “What A Bunch Of Rodents”
by Satan’s Rats.
(1977)

20. “Raw Power”
by The Stooges.
(1973)

21. “Songs Of Praise”
by The Adicts
(1981)

22. “Earth A.D.”
by Misfits.
(1983)

23. “Voice Of A Generation”
by Blitz.
(1982)

24. “Explode”
by The Unseen.
(2002)

25. “Let The Dominoes Fall”
by Rancid.
(2009)

27. “Songs The Lord Taught Us”
by The Cramps.
(1980)

28. “Young Loud and Snotty”
by The Dead Boys.
(1977)

29. “Buzzcocks”
by Buzzcocks.
(2003)

30. “Group Sex”
by Circle Jerks.
(1980)

Friday, August 21, 2009

Would it be possible to get some news?

If you know me, you know the one thing that I can't FUCKING stand is Twilight. Kristen Stewart, who plays lead character Bella Swan in the shitty excuse of a film has told the world that she is "scared of her fans" - well, you knew this movie would be a, for some reason, phenomenon when the books themselves were so popular, you should have known what was going to happen before you committed yourself to 'acting' in it. In fact, it serves you right.

"KRISTEN Stewart is scared of her fans. The Twilight and Adventureland actress has even contemplated going out in a disguise because she is so concerned by some of the movie's more fanatical followers. She said: "I'm scared. I feel like I could go out in disguise but they would still recognise my feet or the shape of my leg. They'd say, 'Hey, she looks about right.' And they would just bag me. It's scary." [stolen from News.Com.Au]

I agree with you Kristen, Twilight fans are definitely the scariest of the bunch. But what were you expecting would happen? I honestly don't see what's so great about you, myself. I find you about as attractive as some horse shit. You're about as interesting as day-old Cheerio's and you look more stoned than Snoop Dogg has ever looked in his life...

I will admit I've seen Twilight on more than one occasion, but that was because my friend wanted me to go so badly, she paid for my ticket and popcorn. I will refuse to watch it again, and I will not be seeing any of the new ones that come out until I'm certain I will see all the characters die of hepatitis or AIDS because I'm sure the only reason Robert Pattinson got the gig was because he was bummed by the director. FFS.

Anyway, that concludes my rant, I'm sure there'll be more to come!

Monday, August 17, 2009

1950's Rock and Roll.

Without doubt, one of my absolute favourite Genre's of music. As most of you know, I hate almost all modern music with the exception of a few musicians who sound like they've come from an earlier era. But at the moment, I've been really getting into rock and roll from the 50's, in particular, Eddie Cochran.

Eddie was a master of the era, and makes Elvis Presley look like a bag of turnips in comparison. Eddie wrote and sang about relevant things of the time and the hardships of being a teenager in that time. Summertime Blues is without doubt the greatest rock and roll song of all time, in my humble opinion. If Elvis was the king, then Eddie was the god.

TEENAGE HEAVEN:
I want a house with a pool
shorter hours in school
And a room with my own private phone

I wanna stay up all night
see the big city lights
No more troubles or worries at home

Just gimme some time on my hands
I wanna make my own private plans

Yeah, I want my own Coupe de Ville
Make my dad pay the bills
Yeah man, that's heaven to me


To me, that's absolutely genius. What are modern bands singing about? Bugger all that matters, that's for sure. You have to look pretty hard to find someone as good as Eddie was. He was unintentionally part of the whole live fast, die young lifestyle when he was in a fatal car crash in early 1960. Some say that because of his untimely death, it's made him a lot more popular over the years - much like Buddy Holly and James Dean.

I first discovered Eddie Cochran when I was about 11 or 12 years old when I was watching the Beatles documentary (who are undoubtedly my favourite band) and Paul McCartney was talking about the first time he had met John Lennon and played "Twenty Flight Rock" to him, it convinced John that Paul was good enough to join his band The Quarrymen, who would later become The Beatles. They played a short clip of the song on the documentary and I enjoyed what I heard. It wasn't until a year later that I really took notice though when I got really into the Sex Pistols. Sid Vicious, like he would to pretty much anyone, appealed to me, especially when he was singing lead. He only really ever sang three songs for the Sex Pistols: My Way, Somethin' Else and Come On Everybody. The last two of that list were both Eddie Cochran numbers which made me think "Maybe I should check out Eddie a bit more" which was a big revelation - it was Eddie Cochran that got me addicted to rock and roll.



This is a pretty pointless blog really, but I just felt like sharing the amazing music of his because to me, it's life-threateningly underrated!


And now for something completely different.

All I've used my blog for thus far has to bitch and moan all the time, I probably just sound like the most annoying person in the world. To be fair, that position remains taken by Kyle Sandilands and Dane Cook.

Anyway, I thought I'd talk about some more positive things about what I've done with myself the past few days apart from being a blogger-bitch. [WARNING - THE FOLLOWING WILL PROBABLY GET EXTREMELY NERDY]

Well the other day I went into a Gametraders store down at Glenelg to buy an old Crash Bandicoot game which ended up not being there anymore, but I did walk out with a perfectly good Silverline Nintendo Gamecube (still in it's box) with a game for a mere $25 (although haters of the console swear I've been robbed, I'm not fussed).
Photobucket

Then the next day I went into a different Gametraders to look around for some cheap games for my new console when I came across some old Sega Megadrive wires which I desperately needed to get my old Sega Megadrive to work - I rushed to the counter and handed him my $20 and rushed home to see if they worked and, low and behold, I now have a working Sega Megadrive! :-D
I've been playing endless games that I played when I was about 3 years old and was feeling mighty nostalgic: Michael Jackson's Moonwalker, Wayne Gretzky (Ice hockey game), NBA Jam, Aladdin, Sonic The Hedgehog 2 etc. - hours of fun.

Photobucket

Friday, August 14, 2009

My Views On School

Whoever said "My school years were the best years of my life" must have either A) been on crack or B) Had a shit life before and after school. School's nothing but a big cup of bollocks. I've been to four different schools now and I can say, there's no way in hell I'm moving schools again. In fact, this'll be my last year of school. I can't cope with it anymore.

I started off school in 1998 at Paringa Park Primary School where I was always getting involved in fights, and being blamed for a whole lot of crap I never did. In year five I got sent out of the room because someone was annoying me and I yelled at them to bugger off. Outside were people from my class making fish out of coke bottles which was an assignment we had to do. They were struggling so I offered to help... the teacher went off at me for helping them because I was supposed to be sitting there "thinking about what I had done" - so she sent me to the fucking deputy principal. I got yelled at so much for doing the "wrong thing" when my intentions were good. So I learnt from that - fuck doing good for people if I'm going to be the one that gets blamed for it.

The next year, I moved to Walford Anglican School For Girls which was full of posh, rich, spoilt kids that I couldn't really relate to. I was into skateboarding, music with meanings and wreaking havoc - something that Walford certainly didn't tolerate. Although I do have a few fond memories from Walford, I remember the bad ones a lot more easily. I never once while I was there, fit in. I was the square peg trying to fit in the round hole. I did have friends, yes, but they were few and far between. I was never academic at all, not because I'm not smart, because as up-myself as it sounds I am very very smart, I just couldn't be arsed doing the work. Not to mention, I was always so sick all the time which involved me to miss hundreds of lessons over the years I was there.
Year 9 was the beginning of the end of my time at Walford - I had a breakdown that year. Two of my friends at the time buggered off to New Zealand for an exchange which lasted a term - bringing two obnoxious and horrible New Zealand girls to our school (bloody NZers, learn to pronounce words right, you sound like tossers). They humiliated me, tormented me, hated me and somehow managed to get everyone else in the year to turn against me until I was pretty much spending recess and lunch on my own. Eventually my marks got so bad that I decided to leave there midway through year 10 and try my luck at a new school...

Brighton Secondary School. It was shit, I barely turned up, fucking hated it. Lasted only half a year.

Now I'm doing school over the phone and whereas it's better than going to a school, I have NO social life, I spend all my time on this computer because no-one wants to get to know me. FML.

Wednesday, August 12, 2009

Ahh, another new thing to be part of.

Yes, I've decided to get meself one of this "blogger" accounts because basically I need to get a lot of crap off my mind all the time and, even if no one bothers to read it, I'll be glad when I've got it all off my chest.

I don't know how to introduce myself... I guess I could do a Top 10 for all sorts of things. Yeah I'll do that.

Top 10 Favourite Bands/Musicians:
1. The Beatles
2. Ramones
3. Buzzcocks
4. The Clash
5. The Who
6. Sex Pistols
7. Eddie Cochran
8. Misfits
9. Rancid
10. The Exploited

Top 10 Favourite TV Shows:
1. The Goodies
2. Monty Python's Flying Circus
3. The Chaser's War On Everything
4. Fawlty Towers
5. Extras
6. Fresh Prince Of Bel Air
7. The Young Ones
8. Not Only... But Also...
9. Degrassi (any of them)
10. Top Gear

Top 10 Interests/Hobbies:
1. Punk and Rock & Roll music
2. Comedy
3. Playing Guitar
4. Football (as in Soccer for you Americanised folk)
5. Video Games
6. 'Glenelg Pizza House' pizza
7. Traveling
8. Being vegetarian (it's not exactly a hobby, mind you)
9. Playing pool
10. Spending time with my good mates and family.

Top 10 Films:
1. Monty Python films (any of them!)
2. Toy Story 1 & 2 (and soon to be 3!)
3. The Child's Play trilogy/Bride Of Chucky
4. Beetlejuice
5. The Harry Potter films
6. Forrest Gump
7. The Green Mile
8. 8 Mile
9. Halloween
10. Friday The 13th (Part II)


That'll probably sum me up enough for now, that was jolly good fun and I must remember I own a blog now...